20 June 2008 - midsummer

So today is midsummer's eve here in Sweden. It's a very BIG thing, a very old tradtition among us Swedes. It has been twisted and changed a little bit during the last decades, but we all celebrate it in some way. Read more here or here if you are interested!!!

Tova and I celebrated with my best friend L, her husband and their gorgeous new baby (4 weeks!!!) in her mothers house. We ate the traditional food and all. I'm telling you. Swedish food is GOOD!!

I've been catching up a lot on the Swedish food that I've been missing in NZ. The other day my youngest sister treated me with Swedish pizza for example!! YUM!!

:)

What else have we been doing since my last post? Well, the weather has been up and down, but we have tried to spend as much time outside as possible. We've been checking out the cows and horses that are walking outside my parents house. We have been hanging out with my sister who have 2 kids, a 3 year old girl and a 1 year old boy. Tova loves her cousins, it's fun to see them jump around together. It's not always easy sharing toys though, but we'll get there.

I've been driving around in an old horrible blue VOLVO (of course). It was a challenge to drive a stick on the right hand side of the road the first day, but I think I'm OK now... I might need a big sign saying "tourist" at the back of the car...

:)

Tova is catching up on the Swedish real fast, I'm very impressed. She's like a little parrot, imitating everyone! So cute... She is still quite unsettled, she won't let me out of her sight, but there has been slight progress. Tonight she even sat on my dad's lap for the first time since they visited NZ in March! Very cool. As long as I was sitting next to them, she was OK...

She keeps asking for her dad, and I think she's a little bit homesick, poor thing...

My little girl seems to be OK at night, as long as she goes to sleep in my bed. It's tricky to get her over to the travel cot without waking her, but if she's REALLY deep asleep, it works. I tell ya, she's a snorer like her dad. I do NOT want her next to my ear if I can help it!!!

:)

Me - I am still struggling. My nasty cough is NOT getting better, and I still wake up in the wee morning hours. Fingers crossed I'll have a wonderful sleep tonight!!

Anyhoo, here are some photos! Love from us!!

Talking to cousin "K"



Playing soccer with mum



Swedish strawberries - YUM!!





Kommentarer:
Postat av: Lovisa

Trevligt hade vi! Vi ses snart igen! Kram från Malmö

2008-06-24 @ 17:14:05
Postat av: Hannah

For some reason I am missing your posts on my feed reader ... but I'm going to catch up now!

Are Swedish strawberries different to ours?? My favourite fruit so I'm quite intruiged :-)


Ny kommentar:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback
hits