16 June 2008 - Jet lag-leg-log

I am here. In Sweden. In my parents house, where I grew up. It's very strange, but very, very cool!!!

Bare with me when I mumble ahead about the trip so far...

It was a looooong trip. :) I have to say though, it went much better than expected. Tova was a good girl most of the time. Considering her antsy-pantsy nature, she was actually great!!!

The first flight was almost 12 hours, and Tova slept for about one hour on that flight. There was a lot of entertaining for mum to do... But we were lucky to get three seats in a row, so we had space to move around, which helped!

Then we had 5 long hours in Bankok. I decided to rent a room by the hour at the airport, so we got a few hours of sleep.

The next flight was 10 hours, and Tova slept like a log for about 8 hours of that flight. Pretty amazing! Also very convenient, as that meant she was almost in phase with Swedish time. Clever girl...

I'm still not in phase. I feel like I have been hit by a log most of the day, and then around 3-6am every morning, I am SOOOO awake. That's when I'm pestering Kelly with text messages... :)

Anyway, the first 24 hours in Sweden, we spent time with my close friends, "the B - family". They took care of us so well with a hotel-like manner!!! Then, from Saturday, I have been with my family here in south of Sweden.

Tova is still very confused about things, and refuses to let me go for 2 seconds. Sure, it's hard, but hopefully she will feel safe and comfortable with my family soon. She won't go to bed alone, like at home, so I'm having daytime naps for the first time in about 30 years!!!  ;)  She is not eating very well, but they say children won't starve themselves, so I try not to worry, and hope that changes soon too. I'm eating all my favourite Swedish food... YUM!!!

She's asking for dad a lot, and "mamma's truck". I guess that's a sign that she's a little bit homesick... :)

Weather? Well. It's Swedish summer as I remember it - 15 degrees above, showers and the odd thunderstorm... ;) They have had a GREAT summer for a few weeks, but it seems to be over. Ah, well. Weather doesn't make the holiday!

One of my sister's live about 1km away from my parent's house, and she's got kids close to Tova's age. We're planning to do a few minor "road-trips" with the kids in the next weeks, so that'll be fun. Sun would be good then, but we'll manage I'm sure!!!

OK, my brain is starting to feel a bit fried... I'll leave you with a few photos from the last few days. 'til next time!!

Sleeping on the Auckland - Bankok flight



Playing iwth my God daughter "L"




Dancing around with grandma and cousin "J"


Kommentarer:
Postat av: Hannah

So glad you made it safely, and that the flights went well. Sounds like Tova was a very good girl! I hope you get over the jet lag soon, I know how annoying it is to be awake for hours in the night because your body clock is not in phase.

Thanks also for the RAK which I received last week!


Ny kommentar:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback
hits